Dilip Vengsarkar only Indian batsman who appears thrice While Sachin missing on Honour Board of Lords – Interesting Stats by Paramdeep Rathee

The Honour Board of Lord’s and the Indians
Indian cricket team played their first test on 25 June 1932 at Lord’s and becomed the sixth team to be granted test cricket status. Lord’s is the most prestigious cricket ground. Every cricketer dreams of playing in this ground. It is referred  as the “Mecca of Cricket”. In the Lords cricket ground in England there is a tradition of HONOUR BOARD.
* A Batsman who scores a hundred at Lords in a Test match or in an ODI then his name deserves the Honour Board. There are 238 Test and 32 ODI centuries scored at this ground. England’s Graham Gooch and Michael Vaughan jointly hold the record for scoring most number of centuries in Test format at Lord’s. Both batsman from England have scored five tons.
* A bowler who picks a five-wicket haul in ODI or in a Test match( takes 5 wickets in an innings or 10 in a match)then his name deserves this Honour too. The most frequently-occurring name in the bowling section on the honours boards is of Ian Botham, He has record eight five-wicket hauls to his name at Lord’s. 
* The first Indian to get to the Lord’s Honours board was Mohammad Nissar he picked up five for 93 in June 1932.
* Dilip Vengsarkar is known as the LORD OF LORD’S. Among the visiting players, India’s Colonel Dilip Vengsarkar has the most Test hundreds at Lord’s with three centuries to his name.
* Shockingly, Sachin Tendulkar hasn’t scored a single century at Lord’s whereas players like Ajit Agarkar have also scored a test hundred at this historic venue. When Sachin was featuring in his last innings at Lord’s in 2011,  Commentator Geoffrey Boycott said to Harsha Bhogle “Sachin may be a great batsman but he never got his name at the Lord’s honor board.” Harsha Bhogle, as always with witty remarks, responded “So whose loss is it, Sachin’s or the honor boards’?” 
* Vinoo Mankad is one of the only three non-English ‘away’ players whose names appear on both batting and bowling honours boards at Lords.The other two are Keith Miller and Sir Gary Sobers.

*Centuries by Indian batsmen at Lords

Batsman Runs. date
A. Rahane         103                17-Jul-14

R.Dravid                103*              21-Jul-11

A. Agarakar          109*               25-Jul-02

S. Ganguly            131               20-Jun-96

M. Azharuddin     121           26-Jul-90

R. Shastri        100               26-Jul-90

D. Vengsarkar      126*                5-Jun-86

D. Vengsarkar      157                10-Jun-82

G. Viswanath       113                 2-Aug-79

D. Vengsarkar      103                 2-Aug-79

V. Mankad           184               19-Jun-52

*Five-wicket haul by Indians at Lords
Bowler          Bowling Figures       Date

I. Sharma          7/74                21-Jul-14

B. Kumar           6/82               19-Jul-14

P. Kumar            5/106                21-Jul-11

RP Singh            5/59               19-Jul-07

V. Prasad           5/76               20-Jun-96

C. Sharma          5/64                5-Jun-86

Kapil Dev            5/125              10-Jun-82

B.S Bedi              6/226      20-Jun-74

B. Chandrasekhar  5/127       22-Jun-67

R. Desai               6/89               19-Jun-59

V. Mankad          5/196               19-Jun-52

L. Amarnath       5/118       22-Jun-46

Amar Singh      6/35               27-Jun-36

M. Nissar            5/93              25-Jun-32

Note – India have played 18 Test matches at Lord’s, winning twice, drawing four times, and losing the rest.

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons