Pune’s seasoned racer finishes second

Trio of Karthik Tharani, Vishu Prasad, and Joseph Mathew began the 21st JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship on a winning note, even as the all women’s team of Ahura Racing stole the thunder on Saturday afternoon in Coimbatore.
Racing for the first time ever, Coimbatore’s Megaa KS beat the rest of the girls, impressing with an overall timing of 18:09.057 minutes. Pune’s Dr. Ritika Oberoi, a seasoned motorsports competitor, chased her all the way, taking one extra second.
Karthik Tharani claimed the coveted first race in the Euro  JK 18 category, winning the 15-lap race in 15:29.526 minutes. Nirmal Uma Shankar (Chennai) and Manav Sharma (Faridabad) took the other two places on the podium.
The day, however, belonged to the girls from Ahura Racing in their striking rad care and uniforms.
The six girls created history on Friday, becoming the first all women’s team to compete in India. Five of them eventually competed in the LGB 4 category and did well to finish the race.

www.sportsnasha.com is a venture of SRC SPORTSNASHA ADVISORS PVT LTD. It is a website dedicated to all sports at all levels. The mission of website is to promote grass root sports.